Living Fragrance Free

Florida Dance Schedule

  1. Wed - Jun 21 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  2. Fri - Jun 23 — Orange Park: English Country
  3. Fri - Jun 23 — Tallahassee: Contra
  4. Sat - Jun 24 — Pinellas Park: Contra
  5. Sat - Jun 24 — Pinellas Park: Contra
  6. Sat - Jun 24 — McIntosh: Contra
  7. Sun - Jun 25 — Coconut Grove: Contra
  8. Mon - Jun 26 — Gainesville: English Country
  9. Tue - Jun 27 — Melbourne: English Country
  10. Tue - Jun 27 — Venice Area: English Country
  11. Tue - Jun 27 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  12. Tue - Jun 27 — Fort Walton: Contra
  13. Wed - Jun 28 — Gainesville: Irish
  14. Wed - Jun 28 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  15. Fri - Jun 30 — Orange Park: English Country
  16. Sat - Jul 1 — Cocoa Beach: Contra
  17. Sat - Jul 1 — Boca Raton: Contra
  18. Sun - Jul 2 — Gainesville: Contra
  19. Mon - Jul 3 — Gainesville: English Country
  20. Tue - Jul 4 — Melbourne: English Country
  21. Tue - Jul 4 — Venice Area: English Country
  22. Tue - Jul 4 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  23. Tue - Jul 4 — Fort Walton: Contra
  24. Wed - Jul 5 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  25. Fri - Jul 7 — Pinellas Park: Contra
  26. Fri - Jul 7 — Melrose:
  27. Fri - Jul 7 — Orange Park: English Country
  28. Sat - Jul 8 — Pinellas Park: Contra
  29. Sat - Jul 8 —Davie: Contra - summer vacation
  30. Sun - Jul 9 — DeLand: English Country - suspended
  31. Mon - Jul 10 — Gainesville: English Country
  32. Tue - Jul 11 — Melbourne: English Country
  33. Tue - Jul 11 — Venice Area: English Country
  34. Tue - Jul 11 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  35. Tue - Jul 11 — Fort Walton: Contra
  36. Wed - Jul 12 — Gainesville: Irish
  37. Wed - Jul 12 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  38. Fri - Jul 14 — Orange Park: English Country
  39. Fri - Jul 14 — Melrose: Contra
  40. Fri - Jul 14 — Tallahassee: Contra
  41. Sat - Jul 15 — Gainesville: Contra
  42. Sun - Jul 16 — Boca Raton: Contra
  43. Mon - Jul 17 — Gainesville: English Country
  44. Tue - Jul 18 — Melbourne: English Country
  45. Tue - Jul 18 — Venice Area: English Country
  46. Tue - Jul 18 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  47. Tue - Jul 18 — Fort Walton: Contra
  48. Wed - Jul 19 — Gainesville: Irish
  49. Wed - Jul 19 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  50. Fri - Jul 21 — Melbourne: Contra - canceled for summer
  51. Fri - Jul 21 — Jacksonville: Contra
  52. Fri - Jul 21 — Sarasota: Contra
  53. Sat - Jul 22 — Pinellas Park: Contra
  54. Sun - Jul 23 — Coconut Grove: Contra
  55. Sun - Jul 23 — Coral Gables: Contra
  56. Mon - Jul 24 — Gainesville: English Country
  57. Tue - Jul 25 — Melbourne: English Country
  58. Tue - Jul 25 — Venice Area: English Country
  59. Tue - Jul 25 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  60. Tue - Jul 25 — Fort Walton: Contra
  61. Wed - Jul 26 — Gainesville: Irish
  62. Wed - Jul 26 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  63. Fri - Jul 28 — Orange Park: English Country
  64. Fri - Jul 28 — Tallahassee: Contra
  65. Sat - Jul 29 — McIntosh: Contra
  66. Sun - Jul 30 — Gainesville: Advanced Contra
  67. Mon - Jul 31 — Gainesville: English Country
  68. Sun - Aug 27 — Coral Gables: Contra
  69. Sat - Aug 26 — McIntosh: Contra
  70. Fri - Sep 15 — Melbourne: Contra
  71. Sun - Sep 24 — Coconut Grove: Contra

Living Fragrance Free

A significant and growing number of people suffer from sensitivity to solvents, coal tar and petroleum products including perfume and fragrance. These chemicals act not only as respiratory irritants, but also as cardiac stimulants (sky rocketing blood pressure, palpitations) and neurotoxins (symptoms include tremors, mental confusion, equilibrium loss, blurred vision). Exposure to small amounts of these chemicals can cause symptoms. This is not a preference issue - it is a serious health issue. Chemical sensitivity results from long term exposure to solvents and products in doses thought to be safe: this could happen to any one of us. I was over 40 when the symptoms first occurred.

Because a dance hall is an enclosed spaces, even small amounts of fragrance, scented or toxic products on a few people can add up quickly to intolerable amounts. The motion and heat of dancing increases the dispersion and effect. Even when I cannot smell the fragrance at the dance, it clings to clothing. I notice it when I remove my t-shirt. Our fellow dancers with chemical sensitivities can attend only if we all work together to reduce the amount of toxic chemicals. I frequently have to leave dances because of excessive fragrance. Fragrance-free soap, laundry detergent, shampoo, conditioner and skin lotion should be used.

This is my selection of products for living as near to fragrance-free as possible. If you have additional products, email them to the webmaster.

   Hand and bath soap - Dove and Ivory have acceptable fragrance free soaps. Basis fragrance free is better but not readily available.
   Body Wash and Shampoo - Atsko Body Wash and Shampoo is excellent. It was developed to remove fragrances and chemicals left by other products.
   Shampoo and conditioner - I need a dandruff shampoo, so I use Head and Shoulders or Pert (both scented) followed by Earth Sciences shampoo, Atsko shampoo, and Earth Sciences conditioner.
   Hair Spray - Magick Botanicals has a fragrance free hair spray along with a wide variety of fragrance free products.
   Shaving - Aveeno shaving gel and skin lotion.
   Bath oil - Kiss My Face (herbal scent) but I never have a problem.
   Deodorant - Kiss My Face, Le Stick or Earth Sciences Liken Plant.
   Laundry detergent - Fragrance free All, Cheer and Seventh Generation are acceptable but I prefer Atsko Sensi-Clean.
   Dish washing - Seventh Generation, sink and washer.
   Unscented Products distributes a variety of fragrance free products.

   Nasal spray - Frequent use of a saline (non-mediacted) nasal spray helps.
   Medication - Butabital helps some for neurotoxins symptoms.

   Fragrance - If you must wear a fragrance, use an essential oil with a very delicate pure herbal or floral scent.

The "Ban Perfume" image is available as a button. Email webmaster if you would like one (or more is you are willing to distribute them at your dances).

Here are a few links to other Fragrance Free sites.

Avoid fragrances and perfumes. Not cool.

Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety

Fragrance-Free Encounters

A FRAGRANCE-SAFE CAMP



Please consider a donation
to support Dance Web Florida