Living Fragrance Free

  • Fri - Sep 22 — Tallahassee: Contra
  • Fri - Sep 22 — Melbourne: Contra - canceled for summer
  • Fri - Sep 22 — Orange Park: English Country
  • Sat - Sep 23 — Pinellas Park: Contra
  • Sat - Sep 23 — McIntosh: Contra
  • Sun - Sep 24 — Coconut Grove: Contra
  • Sun - Sep 24 — Coral Gables: Contra
  • Mon - Sep 25 — Gainesville: English Country
  • Tue - Sep 26 — Melbourne: English Country
  • Tue - Sep 26 — Venice Area: English Country
  • Tue - Sep 26 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  • Tue - Sep 26 — Fort Walton: Contra
  • Wed - Sep 27 — Gainesville: Irish
  • Wed - Sep 27 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  • Fri - Sep 29 — Orange Park: English Country
  • Sun - Oct 1 — Gainesville: Contra
  • Mon - Oct 2 — Gainesville: English Country
  • Tue - Oct 3 — Melbourne: English Country
  • Tue - Oct 3 — Venice Area: English Country
  • Tue - Oct 3 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  • Tue - Oct 3 — Fort Walton: Contra
  • Wed - Oct 4 — Gainesville: Irish
  • Wed - Oct 11 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  • Fri - Oct 6 — Pinellas Park: Contra
  • Fri - Oct 6 — Orange Park: English Country
  • Sat - Oct 7 — Cocoa Beach: Contra
  • Sat - Oct 7 — Boca Raton: Contra
  • Sun - Oct 8 — DeLand: English Country - suspended
  • Mon - Oct 9 — Gainesville: English Country
  • Tue - Oct 10 — Melbourne: English Country
  • Tue - Oct 10 — Venice Area: English Country
  • Tue - Oct 10 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  • Tue - Oct 10 — Fort Walton: Contra
  • Wed - Oct 11 — Gainesville: Irish
  • Wed - Oct 11 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  • Fri - Oct 13 — Tallahassee: Contra
  • Fri - Oct 13 — Melrose:
  • Fri - Oct 13 — Orange Park: English Country
  • Sat - Oct 14 — Pinellas Park: Contra
  • Sat - Oct 14 —Davie: Contra - suspended
  • Sun - Oct 15 — Boca Raton: Contra
  • Mon - Oct 16 — Gainesville: English Country
  • Tue - Oct 17 — Melbourne: English Country
  • Tue - Oct 17 — Venice Area: English Country
  • Tue - Oct 17 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  • Tue - Oct 17 — Fort Walton: Contra
  • Wed - Oct 18 — Gainesville: Irish
  • Wed - Oct 18 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  • Fri - Oct 20 — Jacksonville: Contra
  • Fri - Oct 20 — Melbourne: Contra
  • Fri - Oct 20 — Sarasota: Contra
  • Sat - Oct 21 — Gainesville: Contra
  • Mon - Oct 23 — Gainesville: English Country
  • Tue - Oct 24 — Melbourne: English Country
  • Tue - Oct 24 — Venice Area: English Country
  • Tue - Oct 24 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  • Tue - Oct 24 — Fort Walton: Contra
  • Wed - Oct 25 — Gainesville: Irish
  • Wed - Oct 25 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  • Fri - Oct 27 — Tallahassee: Contra
  • Fri - Oct 27 — Orange Park: English Country
  • Sat - Oct 28 — Pinellas Park: Contra
  • Sat - Oct 28 — McIntosh: Contra
  • Sun - Oct 29 — Coconut Grove: Contra
  • Sun - Oct 29 — Coral Gables: Contra
  • Mon - Oct 30 — Gainesville: English Country
  • Tue - Oct 31 — Melbourne: English Country
  • Tue - Oct 31 — Venice Area: English Country
  • Tue - Oct 31 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  • Tue - Oct 31 — Fort Walton: Contra
  • Living Fragrance Free

    A significant and growing number of people suffer from sensitivity to solvents, coal tar and petroleum products including perfume and fragrance. These chemicals act not only as respiratory irritants, but also as cardiac stimulants (sky rocketing blood pressure, palpitations) and neurotoxins (symptoms include tremors, mental confusion, equilibrium loss, blurred vision). Exposure to small amounts of these chemicals can cause symptoms. This is not a preference issue - it is a serious health issue. Chemical sensitivity results from long term exposure to solvents and products in doses thought to be safe: this could happen to any one of us. I was over 40 when the symptoms first occurred.

    Because a dance hall is an enclosed spaces, even small amounts of fragrance, scented or toxic products on a few people can add up quickly to intolerable amounts. The motion and heat of dancing increases the dispersion and effect. Even when I cannot smell the fragrance at the dance, it clings to clothing. I notice it when I remove my t-shirt. Our fellow dancers with chemical sensitivities can attend only if we all work together to reduce the amount of toxic chemicals. I frequently have to leave dances because of excessive fragrance. Fragrance-free soap, laundry detergent, shampoo, conditioner and skin lotion should be used.

    This is my selection of products for living as near to fragrance-free as possible. If you have additional products, email them to the webmaster.

       Hand and bath soap - Dove and Ivory have acceptable fragrance free soaps. Basis fragrance free is better but not readily available.
       Body Wash and Shampoo - Atsko Body Wash and Shampoo is excellent. It was developed to remove fragrances and chemicals left by other products.
       Shampoo and conditioner - I need a dandruff shampoo, so I use Head and Shoulders or Pert (both scented) followed by Earth Sciences shampoo, Atsko shampoo, and Earth Sciences conditioner.
       Hair Spray - Magick Botanicals has a fragrance free hair spray along with a wide variety of fragrance free products.
       Shaving - Aveeno shaving gel and skin lotion.
       Bath oil - Kiss My Face (herbal scent) but I never have a problem.
       Deodorant - Kiss My Face, Le Stick or Earth Sciences Liken Plant.
       Laundry detergent - Fragrance free All, Cheer and Seventh Generation are acceptable but I prefer Atsko Sensi-Clean.
       Dish washing - Seventh Generation, sink and washer.
       Unscented Products distributes a variety of fragrance free products.

       Nasal spray - Frequent use of a saline (non-mediacted) nasal spray helps.
       Medication - Butabital helps some for neurotoxins symptoms.

       Fragrance - If you must wear a fragrance, use an essential oil with a very delicate pure herbal or floral scent.

    The "Ban Perfume" image is available as a button. Email webmaster if you would like one (or more is you are willing to distribute them at your dances).

    Here are a few links to other Fragrance Free sites.

    Avoid fragrances and perfumes. Not cool.

    Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety

    Fragrance-Free Encounters

    A FRAGRANCE-SAFE CAMP



    Please consider a donation
    to support Dance Web Florida