Florida Dance Schedule

  1. Wed - Jun 21 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  2. Fri - Jun 23 — Orange Park: English Country
  3. Fri - Jun 23 — Tallahassee: Contra
  4. Sat - Jun 24 — Pinellas Park: Contra
  5. Sat - Jun 24 — Pinellas Park: Contra
  6. Sat - Jun 24 — McIntosh: Contra
  7. Sun - Jun 25 — Coconut Grove: Contra
  8. Mon - Jun 26 — Gainesville: English Country
  9. Tue - Jun 27 — Melbourne: English Country
  10. Tue - Jun 27 — Venice Area: English Country
  11. Tue - Jun 27 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  12. Tue - Jun 27 — Fort Walton: Contra
  13. Wed - Jun 28 — Gainesville: Irish
  14. Wed - Jun 28 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  15. Fri - Jun 30 — Orange Park: English Country
  16. Sat - Jul 1 — Cocoa Beach: Contra
  17. Sat - Jul 1 — Boca Raton: Contra
  18. Sun - Jul 2 — Gainesville: Contra
  19. Mon - Jul 3 — Gainesville: English Country
  20. Tue - Jul 4 — Melbourne: English Country
  21. Tue - Jul 4 — Venice Area: English Country
  22. Tue - Jul 4 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  23. Tue - Jul 4 — Fort Walton: Contra
  24. Wed - Jul 5 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  25. Fri - Jul 7 — Pinellas Park: Contra
  26. Fri - Jul 7 — Melrose:
  27. Fri - Jul 7 — Orange Park: English Country
  28. Sat - Jul 8 — Pinellas Park: Contra
  29. Sat - Jul 8 —Davie: Contra - summer vacation
  30. Sun - Jul 9 — DeLand: English Country - suspended
  31. Mon - Jul 10 — Gainesville: English Country
  32. Tue - Jul 11 — Melbourne: English Country
  33. Tue - Jul 11 — Venice Area: English Country
  34. Tue - Jul 11 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  35. Tue - Jul 11 — Fort Walton: Contra
  36. Wed - Jul 12 — Gainesville: Irish
  37. Wed - Jul 12 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  38. Fri - Jul 14 — Orange Park: English Country
  39. Fri - Jul 14 — Melrose: Contra
  40. Fri - Jul 14 — Tallahassee: Contra
  41. Sat - Jul 15 — Gainesville: Contra
  42. Sun - Jul 16 — Boca Raton: Contra
  43. Mon - Jul 17 — Gainesville: English Country
  44. Tue - Jul 18 — Melbourne: English Country
  45. Tue - Jul 18 — Venice Area: English Country
  46. Tue - Jul 18 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  47. Tue - Jul 18 — Fort Walton: Contra
  48. Wed - Jul 19 — Gainesville: Irish
  49. Wed - Jul 19 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  50. Fri - Jul 21 — Melbourne: Contra - canceled for summer
  51. Fri - Jul 21 — Jacksonville: Contra
  52. Fri - Jul 21 — Sarasota: Contra
  53. Sat - Jul 22 — Pinellas Park: Contra
  54. Sun - Jul 23 — Coconut Grove: Contra
  55. Sun - Jul 23 — Coral Gables: Contra
  56. Mon - Jul 24 — Gainesville: English Country
  57. Tue - Jul 25 — Melbourne: English Country
  58. Tue - Jul 25 — Venice Area: English Country
  59. Tue - Jul 25 — Lake Worth: Irish Céilí
  60. Tue - Jul 25 — Fort Walton: Contra
  61. Wed - Jul 26 — Gainesville: Irish
  62. Wed - Jul 26 — Tampa: Scandinavian
  63. Fri - Jul 28 — Orange Park: English Country
  64. Fri - Jul 28 — Tallahassee: Contra
  65. Sat - Jul 29 — McIntosh: Contra
  66. Sun - Jul 30 — Gainesville: Advanced Contra
  67. Mon - Jul 31 — Gainesville: English Country
  68. Sun - Aug 27 — Coral Gables: Contra
  69. Sat - Aug 26 — McIntosh: Contra
  70. Fri - Sep 15 — Melbourne: Contra
  71. Sun - Sep 24 — Coconut Grove: Contra

Contra Special Events

Contra Line

Florida Folk Festival
May 26-28, 2017, 10am - midnight each day
Adults — $50, Children under 6 — Free
Stephen Foster Folk Culture Center State Park
11016 Lillian Saunders Dr, White Springs FL
Info: 877-635-3655 Interactive Map
June Bug Bash June 10-11, 2015 — 8-11 pm both nights
Advanced Contra Sat 1-4 pm
Music: TBA
Caller: TBA
Pinellas Park Auditorium,7690 59 St. N., Pinellas Park, FL
- Interactive Map

Florida State Fiddlers Convention
Oct TBA, 2016
Otter Springs Campground, Trenton, FL
String Band competition, Concerts, Jams, Contra Dance
Interactive Map
Lake County Folk Festival
Oct 14-16, 2017 — Ferran Park Dr & Magnolia Ave W, Eustis
Saturday - 10 am to 7 pm; Sunday - 11 am to 5 pm
352 357-8555 - Interactive Map

The Fall Ball
October 21-23, 2016
Music: TBA
Callers: TBA
Pinellas Park Auditorium, 7690 59 St. N, Pinellas Park, FL
- Interactive Map
Barberville Fall Jamboree
November 5-6, 2016, 9:00am-5:00pm
Adults — $6, Children 5-12 — $4, Under 5 — free
1776 Lightfoot Lane, Pierson, FL
Performances — 10 - 4 both days
Acoustic Workshops — Free
Lots of Jams — All Instruments Welcome
Info: Chuck Spano 386-852-5436 Interactive Map

The Florida Snow Ball
January 22-24, 2016
Music: The JEMS and Syncopaths
Callers: Cis Hinkle and Frannie Marr
Admission: $100 - $110 after Dec 20
Gulfport Casino, 5500 Shore Blvd. South, Gulfport, FL
- Interactive Map
Orange Blossom Ball
January 13-15, 2017
Music: TBA
Callers: TB
Gold Star Ballroom
3110 Opportunity Ct FL (near 3100 S Ridgewood Ave)
Interactive Map

Dancing with the GODS
February 26-28, 2016
Music: Nightwatch snd Notorious
Callers: Will Mentor and Angela DeCarlis
Thelma Boltin Center, 516 NE 2nd Ave Gainesville FL
- Interactive Map
GODS News Year: Contra
Dec 31 - Jan 1, 2016-17
Music: Andama
Caller: Angela DeCarlis
Thelma Boltin Center, 516 NE 2nd Ave Gainesville FL
- Interactive Map

Apr 21-23 — Wild Asparagus Florida Tour with George Marshall
Info: Joe Rush
At the Dancing Fish Dance Barn
Interactive Map
Barberville Spring Frolic
April 23-24, 2016 — Sat 9-10pm — Sun 9 am-4 pm
Adults — $8, Children 5-12 — $5, Under 5 — free
1776 Lightfoot Lane, Barberville
Music starts at 10 both days
Dance starts at 1 both days
Acoustic Workshops — Free
Lots of Jams — All Instruments Welcome
Contra - Barnstyle Dance
Info: Chuck Spano 386-672-4533 Interactive Map

Dec 31 — Davie New Years Dance
Davie Woman's Club 6551 Orange Dr, Davie, FL
Caller: Pat Czar — Band: Pot Luck
Info: William (321)402-6122
7:30 pm - Interactive Map
Pat and Anita Mason with Cornbread Contra
John Martin's Irish Pub in Coral Gables
253 Miracle Mile Coral Gables FL 33134 305-445-3777
Dates and time: Sundays 3-6pm
May 21, June 18, July 23, Aug. 27
More Info: South Florida Contra Dances
Interactive Map

Health Benefits of Dancing - 1

Health Benefits of Dancing - 2

What in the World is Contra Dancing?

St Petersburg Times - Contra Dancing

Please do not use perfume or other heavy fragrances before dancing. Living Fragrance Free contains tips for avoiding objectional fragrances.

All You Need to Know About Relationships can be Learned in a Dance Class.


Please consider a donation
to support Dance Web Florida